During the closing session of the ISRS 2022 congress in Milan, Ian Paddick has received the Fabrikant award for his longstanding and significant contributions to the field of radiosurgery. His invited ‘Fabrikant lecture’ covered his work on developing and publishing indexes, like the Paddick Conformity Index, the Gradient Index and the Efficiency Index, and emphasized the importance of being able to standardize treatments so that centers can compare their data. He also talked about ways we can improve clinical research and encouraged to question dogma which is holding back the discipline of SRS. The content of the Fabrikant lecture will be published in the ISRS journal, Journal of Radiosurgery and SBRT.

I’m truly humbled to receive this award. It’s the first time a physicist has received the prize on their own and I’m also the first recipient from the UK. The award is usually given to radiation oncologists or neurosurgeons but this year’s award demonstrates that physicists are valued by clinicians and make a significant contribution to shaping clinical practice”. I’ve published over 50 articles on stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) and have been lucky to have my work on indices incorporated in to all the major treatment planning systems. I’ve also been fortunate enough to visit and teach at over 100 Gamma Knife centres around the world so my work really has a global reach. Current and future research is in the area of radiobiology where I believe we can make significant improvements in the efficacy and consistency of treatments.” Ian Paddick was the first physicist to serve as President of the Society (2017-2019) and now serve as an ex-officio member of the Board, where he chairs the Certification Service.



    The Fabrikant Award is awarded every two years to an individual or individuals who are members of the ISRS and have made longstanding and significant contributions to the field of radiosurgery.

    The Awards Committee selects the awardee who is then notified by the Board of Directors between September and December of the year preceding the ISRS Biennial Congress. The award is presented during the closing session of the Congress and is followed by an invited lecture by the Awardee who receives a grant of $5000 and a commemorative certificate.

    Learn more about Jacob I. Fabrikant’s contributions and legacy here.


    2022 Ian Paddick, UK
    2019 John Adler, USA
    2017 Ben J Slotman, The Netherlands
    2015 German Rey & Roberto MartinezSpain
    2013 Bruce Pollock, USA
    2011 Masaaki Yamamoto, Japan
    2009 Jean Régis, France
    2007 Douglas Kondziolka, USA
    2005 Federico Colombo, Italy & David Larson, USA
    2003 Tatsuya Kobayashi, Japan & John Flickinger, USA
    2001 Jay S. Loeffler, Frank Bova, William Friedman, USA
    1999 Christer Lindquist, Sweden
    1997 L. Dade Lunsford, USA & Juan Barcia-Salorio, Spain
    1995 Erik-Olof Backlund, Norway & Börje Larsson, Sweden


    The Young Professional Award recognizes young professionals who have made notable contributions to the field of radiosurgery early in their career. To be eligible, young professionals must be under the age of 35, the main author and presenter of an original scientific contribution (oral presentation) at the ISRS Biennial Congress and indicate their candidature during the abstract submission process. The Awardee will be selected by the Awards Committee during the ISRS Biennial Congress and the award will be presented to the individual during the closing session. The award consists of $2500 and a commemorative certificate. 


    2022 Anne Balossier, France
    2019 Daniel Trifiletti, USA
    2013 Constantin Tuleasca, Switzerland
    2011 Kaoru Tamura, Japan
    2009 Sean Park, USA

    The Young Investigator awardee is chosen for the best oral presentation at the ISRS Congress. Recipients must be currently in a training program (either a clinical resident or postdoctoral) and under 35 years old. The award consists of a grant of $1000, (covering part of the expenses to attend the Biennial Congress) and a commemorative certificate. The award is given during the closing session of the Congress. Candidates should apply for this award by indicating their candidature in the abstract submission process and provide a letter from their institution of study that verifies their status.


    2022 Rosario Mazzola, Italy
    2019 Christopher Graffeo, USA
    2017 Alexis Dimitriadis, UK
    2015 Charles Rutter, USA
    2013 Isabelle Thibault, Canada
    2011 Toru Serizawa, Japan
    2009 Scott Soltys, USA
    2007 Vanessa Panettieri, Spain
    2005 Jose Lorenzoni, Brussels
    2003 Jeremy Rowe, UK


    At each ISRS Congress, the author of an outstanding poster will be awarded with the Best Poster Award. A jury consisting of distinguished scientists announces the winning poster during the poster session. The award is presented during the closing session of the Congress and the awardee receives free registration to the next congress and a commemorative certificate. Candidates should apply for this award through indicating interest in being considered during abstract submission to the next ISRS Congress. 


    2022 Adrian Gutiérrez, Belgium
    2019 Lukas Knybel, Czech Republic
    2017 Kate Carroll, USA
    2015 T. Furuya, Japan
    2013 Sangroh Kim, USA
    2011 Soha Al-Omar, Canada
    2009 Seung Yeob Yang, Korea
    2007 Koichi Mitsuya, Japan
    2005 Stefan Scheib, Switzerland


    The Lars Leksell lecture takes place at each ISRS congress to honor the contributions of Lars Leksell to radiosurgery. The first one was presented at the ISRS Congress in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in June 2019. The title of the lecture was: "Gamma Knife Radiosurgery from Leksell to the Present: An lnsider's View". Moderators: Antonio De Salles (Brazil), Laura Fariselli (Italy), Marc Levivier (Switzerland), Lan Paddick (Uk), Jean Regis (France).


    2022 Dade Lunsford, USA
    2019 Christer Lindquist, Sweden